Skip to content

The Truth Is Out There

October 22, 2009

Never underestimate the power of social networking! I’m a newcomer to this whole Facebook and blogging part of the Web. Thanks to two responses to my post about Emeline Chambers, I got a miracle.

First was a nice comment about my blog and a suggestion I put information on Geneabloggers.com. It is a wonderful site, and I wrote the site developer Thomas MacEntee with an idea of adding an Appalachian Genealogy section. Thomas thought it was a great idea, did so, looked over my blog, and made it a highlight in the weekly This Week’s New Genealogy Blogs. Needless to say, I am flattered.

In less than a week after Thomas put out the word about Appalachian Aristocracy, I got an email from a man, turns out to be a long lost cousin, who has information about who was the father of Emeline’s three children before she married Chapman Elswick. He had the name, and a bit of the story, and will introduce me to another cousin who can give me all the details. Unless all parties agree I won’t give out the father’s name, but this is just too good not to share. Geneabloggers.com gets credit for this brick wall tumbling down.

Moral of the story: add social networking to your search tools. Use Geneabloggers.com to look for cousins you don’t know who have a piece of the puzzle you need, and you may be able to return the favor.

After more than 100 years later, the truth is still out there. Now we can all hum the theme song from the “X Files.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 6:49 pm

    Thanks for the shout out. We’ve built our own search engine (with the help of Google) that allows anyone to search across almost 700 genealogy blogs on our blog list:

    http://www.geneabloggers.com/search-geneablogger-member-blogs/

    Every genealogist should be looking up their surnames here!

  2. October 23, 2009 3:23 am

    Glad to help Thomas. You have been a tremendous help to me in just a short time. I know others will connect with fellow researchers as well on your wonderful web site.

  3. November 6, 2009 11:01 pm

    Hi Virginia,

    You are a great writer! I was so bummed to see so few posts. You could be a great asset to the genealogy community – keep posting!!

    Because you have such valuable information for other genealogists on your blog, I would like to personally invite you to put links to OneGreatFamily.com on your blog and earn money for referring customers to our site. You can find more information about our Affiliate program at: http://www.onegreatfamily.com/affiliate.aspx. If you have any questions you can contact me – heather.matthews@onegreatfamily.com

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

