Skip to content

My Brick Walls Rival the Great Wall of China

August 15, 2009

After collecting family history material for umpteen years, being chronically disorganized, and some what lazy, I decided the easiest way to get out the morass I find myself in, and to keep my husband sane, is to just start blogging.  I’m too verbose to Twitter, so this seems to suit my style. Given that I am a procrastinator par excellence, I tend to ignore stuff in my email, so I figure replying to comments may be better.  Of course, I do have check the blog every so often to do so.

I am willing to share information about the families who are my ancestors.  I don’t have all the answers and have enough genealogy brick walls to rival the Great Wall of China.  I am not an accomplished genealogist or family historian, but I do have the passion for finding out why I am the way I am.  Which ancestor gave me absolutely no sense of time? Which one provided the delightful combination of being very short and very round? And where on earth did I get my bizarre sense of humor?

Bear with me if I don’t post stuff regularly or don’t respond in a timely fashion.  My husband and I have our own family business to keep from going bankrupt in the New Economy, plus an adult son who is ventilator-dependent, pretty much bedridden, and requires skilled care nursing when we can get it.  When they don’t show up, then we are working and doing homecare. We are approaching the age when we will be going on Medicare. I figure if I keep going fast enough, old age won’t catch up to me.

Here are the families I’m researching on my side:

Whitaker, Christian, Pack, Beavers, Petts (Tazewell County, VA and McDowell County, WV) Chambers, Tate, Davenport, Owens, Payne (Washington and Russell Counties, VA) Johnson, Bryant (Buckingham County, VA) Hamman/Hammond (Botetourt and Tazewell Counties, VA)

My husband is descended from the Duke’s of Clarke County, Alabama. I’ve been working on them from time to time, but they are a difficult to find information about. According to family lore, they are one generation away from sharing the North Carolina Duke fortune, but I think that is just wishful thinking. Otherwise, his Russell ancestors are from York, Co. ME, Cluverius and Walker are FFV’s (first families of Virgina).  He is a descendant of Dr. Thomas Walker, the explorer of Southwestern VA and found the Cumberland Gap. So even though he is a flatlander, he does have some connection with Appalachia.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 2:37 pm

    First let me say welcome to Geneabloggers. We are a great group of genealogy enthusiasts, from novice to experts. You’ll learn a lot and probably teach us a few things 😉

    Second, after reading about your brick wall of China you may want to join us every Monday for Madness Monday. Here is the link to explain it http://untangledfamilyroots.blogspot.com/2009/03/madness-monday.html Also you may find this link http://untangledfamilyroots.blogspot.com/2007/08/organized-genealogist-part-iii.html helpful if you are needing help to get organized. I was there once. I had to set my research aside for a week in order to organize everything like this, but I’ve never regretted it. It saves me a lot of time and headaches.

    Anyway Good luck and welcome.

    • October 12, 2009 9:01 pm

      Thanks, Amy, for the welcome. I believe that those of us loving family history and genealogy have to be the nicest folks on the planet.

      I will definitely try to join you on Madness Monday, and will gladly accept any tips on organizing. I’m disorganized and can stand it, but for some unfathomable reason by husband’s inability to get his stuff in some sort of order drive me crazy. I think it’s a man-woman things.

      Cheers,
      Cheryl

Leave a Reply

